Stickers work.. Who would have thought it…

Not ICT related, but wanted to share this gem with my fellow students, future teachers and anyone else working with teenagers… Remember back to Primary school when you were so excited to get a sticker for good work from your teacher? It rings true for High School too. Before Prac started I ordered stickers, but not just any stickers, Scratch ‘n’ Sniff stickers. I got pizza, bubblegum, fruit salad and chocolate. For the first week I didn’t know how to approach putting stickers in student books. My mentor told me to just walk around checking books and “slipping them on”.

There is no “slipping it on” when you are trying to place a sticker and find a space to do so while the students is writing, but I managed to do it and was amazed at the result.

The first time I used them I stuck them on and informed the students if they scratched them they would smell. My first English class were smelling the books through the rest of the day. Once students realised what I was doing I had one student, who barely does any work normally, grab her friend’s book to copy the work so she would get a sticker.

I have one week and one day of prac to go and more than 50 stickers left. There will be some very happy students smelling their school books for a while.

If you want to grab some Scratch ‘n’ Sniff stickers (and there are so many more flavours to choose from) you can get them from Silly Milly Moo‘s.

Leave a comment